Loading Events

« All Events

André M. de Roos (University of Amsterdam): Dynamics of within-population structure stabilise complex ecological communities

October 27 @ 9:00 - 10:00 PDT

Warning!

During this week the time difference between America and Europe is one hour less, than usual. The seminar will begin at 9 am Pacific, as always, but now it will correspond to 4 pm in London and 5 pm in Paris.

Abstract:

Dynamic models of ecological communities that neglect within-population structure predict that stability depends on substantial self-limitation of species. Using a stage-structured food web model I show that differences between juveniles and adults result in diverse ecological communities that are stable or exhibit limited-amplitude fluctuations, despite that only a single basal species is self-regulated. Eigenvalue analysis reveals that community stability results from dynamic changes in within-population stage-structure that override destabilising effects induced by the species interaction network.

Zoom link: https://liu-se.zoom.us/j/63158449287

eventbrite link (for reminders): https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/theoretical-ecology-seminar-series-tickets-119884512805

Details

Date:
October 27
Time:
9:00 - 10:00 PDT
Event Category:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.